Film info

Creator / Collector

The film is shot on May 28, 1979, the day in which the treaty of accession of Greece to the European Communities was signed.

The film opens with a view from the Herodes Attikus street in Athens, where we watch the limousine of some official, followed by the Mercedes S-Class W116 (450 SEL) carrying the then prime minister of Greece Konstantinos Karamanlis and other official cars, all exiting the Presidential Palace, heading towards the Zappeion Megaron where the treaty will be signed.

We see the official cars escorted by the police, people on the street watching the event as well as a short parade of the Presidential Guard. The filmmaker stands on the people who watch from a balcony and then focuses on the motorcade.

The recording continues with views from the Syntagma Square and the Greek Parliament building, as well as the front pages of the newspapers of that day. The lens shows us shots from the road, a sign that reads "GREECE EEC 28.5.1979" and continues with the flags of countries, ending up on the Greek one.

Next, the filmmaker gets back to the motorcade of the officials as they return after the end of the ceremony.

The view changes with shots from the television, where we watch the ceremony as it was broadcasted. We watch the prime minister Konstantinos Karamanlis and Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, President of the French Republic and President of the Council, entering the Zappeion while political leaders give a standing ovation. Konstantinos Karamanlis starts his speech. We see photographers as well as the politicians watching. We single out Evaggelos Averof-Tositsas, Georgios Rallis, Konstantinos Mitsotakis, Giorgos Mavros, Kostis Stefanopoulos, Ioannis Varvitsiotis and Nikos Gelestathis among others.

Roy Jenkins, President of the Commission of the European Communities, takes the stand and then the camera stops at the signing ceremony of four texts for the Treaty of Accession of Greece, by the representatives of the nine member states of the Community. On the Greek side, the texts were signed by the Prime Minister, K. Karamanlis, and the foreign ministers, G. Rallis, and for EEC issues, G. Kontogeorgis.

The film closes with Konstantinos Karamanlis on the podium and the end of the ceremony.




Film Information

Athanasoglou Nikolaos




Duration (seconds)

Super 8mm