Collector info

Kirimlidis Dimitris

My father was born in Safranbolu, Paphlagonia, grew up in Constantinople, graduated from the Great School of the Nation (Phanar Greek Orthodox College), studied medicine at the University of Athens and then left for Germany. He left behind a divided and devastated Greece and settled in Munich working in the Pediatric Clinic of the University Hospital. A few days before World War II broke out in our country, he hastily returned to Greece to see his father who was seriously ill. He finally lived but my father could no longer return to the hostile Germany. So he stayed in Greece, fought for his country, married my mother Panagiota Arbouzis and I was born in the saving year of 1947.

My father, because of his German education, chose the German School of Athens for his children's high school education. At the age of 14, my parents gave me an 8mm film camera, by AGFA. That's how I started my filming hobby mainly family moments, excursions and trips. Later in the years of the National Technical University of Athens, I also got serious about photography, creating my own darkroom for the development of my photos. In 1965, I finished school and began my studies at the School of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering of the National Technical University of Athens.

The period of studies in the National Technical University of Athens was one of the best periods of my life, because studies, new friendships, new experiences, long trips, sports and much more were successfully combined. I finished the university in June 1970 and immediately joined the army. This had as a result me spending 3 summers in the military. I was dismissed in October 1972, hence I served 27 months. Alongside my military service, I had the opportunity to attend courses at Athens University of Economics and Business (an early MBA).

During the time I was finishing the National Technical University of Athens, my sister married Leonidas Damianidis, a Mechanical Engineer with studies in Aachen. In 1968 he founded a research office. When I was discharged from the army he suggested that we should work together.

So I started my career as an Engineer with the guidance of my sister’s husband and partner. When we started we were a small office of 4 people. With a lot of work and hard effort, we managed to grow the office and create a group of consulting companies with an international presence and a potential of around 150 people.

In the spring of 1978 I met my wife, some very difficult years followed in which I lost both my parents and my wife lost her father. We finally got married in 1983 and have been together ever since. We have a daughter and a son who both work for the company. Our daughter was born in 1984, studied Mathematics and Economics in England and has 3 children. Our son was born in 1986 and studied Mechanical Engineering in London.

This year I completed 53 years as an engineer (since 1970, the date of my registration at TEE-TCG). All these years I have been working non-stop and I don't plan to stop anytime soon. My work is interesting and mentally fulfilling. It is very creative to see your projects implemented and to have the appreciation of your Clients and partners.

The only negative thing is that work absorbs all my time and energy and leaves no room for my hobbies. I only “steal” some time for my grandkids and a few close friends.

Collector's recent items

video thumb

Views of Paris

Paris, France
video thumb

Breitscheidplatz in West Berlin

Berlin, Germany
video thumb

Walk around Milan

Milan, Lombardy, Italy